May 13, 2008

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--May 13, 2008--According to preliminary results, Sprint (NYSE:S) shareholders elected nine directors at the company’s 2008 annual meeting of shareholders, which was held in Reston, Virginia.

Shareholders voted to elect each of the following nominees for a one-year term: Robert R. Bennett, Gordon M. Bethune, Larry C. Glasscock, James H. Hance, Jr., Daniel R. Hesse, V. Janet Hill, Irvine O. Hockaday, Jr., Rodney O’Neal, and Ralph V. Whitworth. Shareholders also ratified the appointment of KPMG LLP as Sprint’s independent auditor.

A shareholder proposal concerning special shareholder meetings, which the company opposed, failed to pass. All vote tallies are preliminary until certified by an independent inspector of elections.

About Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services bringing the freedom of mobility to consumers, businesses and government users. Sprint Nextel is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, including two wireless networks serving nearly 53 million customers at the end of the first quarter 2008; industry-leading mobile data services; instant national and international walkie-talkie capabilities; and a global Tier 1 Internet backbone. For more information, visit

CONTACT: Sprint Nextel
James Fisher, 703-433-8677

SOURCE: Sprint Nextel