May 12, 2009

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--May. 12, 2009-- According to preliminary results, Sprint Nextel (NYSE:S) shareholders elected 10 directors at the company’s 2009 annual meeting of shareholders, which was held in Overland Park, Kan.

Shareholders voted to elect each of the following nominees for a one-year term: Robert R. Bennett, Gordon M. Bethune, Larry C. Glasscock, James H. Hance, Jr., Daniel R. Hesse, V. Janet Hill, Frank Ianna, Sven-Christer Nilsson, William R. Nuti, and Rodney O’Neal. Shareholders also ratified the appointment of KPMG LLP as Sprint’s independent auditor.

An amendment to the 1988 Employee Stock Purchase Plan was approved, a shareholder proposal concerning special shareholder meetings passed, and a shareholder proposal concerning political contributions failed to pass. The Sprint board will consider the outcome of the vote on special shareholder meetings as it reviews the company’s corporate governance practices.

All vote tallies are preliminary until certified by an independent inspector of elections.

About Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services bringing the freedom of mobility to consumers, businesses and government users. Sprint Nextel is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, including two wireless networks serving more than 49 million customers at the end of the first quarter of 2009; industry-leading mobile data services; instant national and international push-to-talk capabilities; and a global Tier 1 Internet backbone. For more information, visit

Source: Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel
Media Contact:
James Fisher, 703-433-8677
Investor Contact:
Yijing Brentano, 800-259-3755