May 12, 2010

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C.May 12, 2010 – Only 10 days of voting remain as Sprint (NYSE:S) today announced the updated list of top vote recipients for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Fan Vote, which allows fans to place a driver into the field of the 2010 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race.


As of May 11, the top 10 drivers in the Sprint All-Star Fan Vote standings (in alphabetical order) are A.J. Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose, Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Juan Pablo Montoya, Elliott Sadler, Martin Truex Jr. and Michael Waltrip.


While the list of drivers in the top 10 remains unchanged from last week, it’s still anyone’s game, as fans traditionally increase their voting frequency closer to race day.  Historically, nearly half of the annual vote total has been cast during NASCAR Sprint All-Star Week, so fans still have time to help their driver gain a starting spot in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.


Voting continues until one hour before the start of the Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday, May 22. Fans can cast votes for their favorite eligible drivers using the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile application, by visiting or at the Sprint Experience, located in the midway at every NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event.


As an incentive for Sprint customers, every wireless vote submitted from a Sprint or Nextel device counts double in the driver standings.


Last week’s Sprint customer favorites (in alphabetical order) were Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Juan Pablo Montoya and Elliott Sadler. 


To be eligible for the Sprint All-Star Fan Vote, drivers must be approved by NASCAR for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competition and have met all other eligibility requirements. Those requirements include, but are not limited to, competing in a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship Event during the 2009 season; finishing in the Top 50 of the 2009 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship point standings; or attempting to qualify for a 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship event as of Feb. 15, 2010.


Less Than Two Weeks Remain in NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Fan Vote


The driver accumulating the most votes, who also finishes the Sprint Showdown qualifying race, will earn a spot in the prestigious Sprint All-Star Race field. The Sprint Fan Vote winner will be announced immediately following the completion of the Sprint Showdown.


In addition to voting, fans can also use the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile application to view the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race in its entirety on Sprint devices.


To download the new NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile, which is free with any data plan, Sprint customers should text “NASCAR” to 7777. Votes may also be cast on Sprint devices by texting “VOTE” to 7777 (Standard text messaging and data rates apply).


Drivers eligible for the 2010 Sprint All-Star Fan Vote:

A.J. Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Marcos Ambrose, John Andretti, Norm Benning, Greg Biffle, Dave Blaney, Mike Bliss, Todd Bodine, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Patrick Carpentier, Terry Cook, Derrike Cope, Erik Darnell, Carl Edwards, Bill Elliott, Jeff Fuller, David Gilliland, Robby Gordon, San Hornish Jr., Travis Kvapil, Michael McDowell, Casey Mears, Paul Menard, Juan Pablo Montoya, Joe Nemechek, Max Papis, David Ragan, Tony Raines, Robert Richardson, Scott Riggs, Elliott Sadler, Boris Said, Regan Smith, Reed Sorenson, Scott Speed, David Stremme, Martin Truex Jr., Mike Wallace and Michael Waltrip.


About Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services bringing the freedom of mobility to consumers, businesses and government users. Sprint Nextel served more than 48 million customers at the end of the first quarter of 2010 and is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, and the first and only wireless 4G service from a national carrier in the United States; offering industry-leading mobile data services, leading prepaid brands including Virgin Mobile USA, Boost Mobile and Assurance Wireless and instant national and international push-to-talk capabilities; and a global Tier 1 Internet backbone. With its customer-focused strategy, you can learn more and visit Sprint at or and