May 06, 2010

Race Tightens For Sprint All-Star Fan Vote

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C.May 6, 2010Only 17 days of voting remain as Sprint (NYSE:S) today announced the updated list of top vote recipients for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Fan Vote, which allows fans to place a driver into the field of the 2010 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race.


As of May 4, the top 10 drivers in the Sprint All-Star Fan Vote standings (in alphabetical order) are A.J. Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose, Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Juan Pablo Montoya, Elliott Sadler, Martin Truex Jr. and Michael Waltrip.


While the list of drivers in the top 10 is unchanged from last week, the contest is a close one, with each of the top 20 drivers separated by an average of only 5,000 votes. A concerted voting effort by any eligible driver’s fans could make the difference in securing the coveted Sprint All-Star Fan Vote starting spot for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. 


Voting continues until one hour before the start of the Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday, May 22. Fans can cast votes for their favorite eligible drivers using the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile application, by visiting NASCAR.com or at the Sprint Experience, located in the midway at every NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event.


As an incentive for Sprint customers, every wireless vote submitted from a Sprint or Nextel device counts double in the driver standings. Last week’s Sprint customer favorites (in alphabetical order) were Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Bill Elliott and Elliott Sadler. 


To be eligible for the Sprint All-Star Fan Vote, drivers must be approved by NASCAR for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competition and have met all other eligibility requirements. Those requirements include, but are not limited to, competing in a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship Event during the 2009 season; finishing in the Top 50 of the 2009 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship point standings; or attempting to qualify for a 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship event as of Feb. 15, 2010.


The driver accumulating the most votes, who also finishes the Sprint Showdown qualifying race, will earn a spot in the prestigious Sprint All-Star Race field. The Sprint Fan Vote winner will be announced immediately following the completion of the Sprint Showdown.


Race Tightens for Sprint All-Star Fan Vote


In addition to voting, fans can also use the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile application to view the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race in its entirety on Sprint devices.


To download the new NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile, which is free with any data plan, Sprint customers should text “NASCAR” to 7777. Votes may also be cast on Sprint devices by texting “VOTE” to 7777 (Standard text messaging and data rates apply).


Drivers eligible for the 2010 Sprint All-Star Fan Vote:

A.J. Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Marcos Ambrose, John Andretti, Norm Benning, Greg Biffle, Dave Blaney, Mike Bliss, Todd Bodine, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Patrick Carpentier, Terry Cook, Derrike Cope, Erik Darnell, Carl Edwards, Bill Elliott, Jeff Fuller, David Gilliland, Robby Gordon, San Hornish Jr., Travis Kvapil, Michael McDowell, Casey Mears, Paul Menard, Juan Pablo Montoya, Joe Nemechek, Max Papis, David Ragan, Tony Raines, Robert Richardson, Scott Riggs, Elliott Sadler, Boris Said, Regan Smith, Reed Sorenson, Scott Speed, David Stremme, Martin Truex Jr., Mike Wallace and Michael Waltrip.



Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services bringing the freedom of mobility to consumers, businesses and government users. Sprint Nextel is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, including two wireless networks serving more than 48 million customers at the end of the fourth quarter of 2009 and the first 4G service from a national carrier in the United States; industry-leading mobile data services; instant national and international push-to-talk capabilities; and a global Tier 1 Internet backbone. The company’s customer-focused strategy has led to improved first call resolution and customer care satisfaction scores. For more information, visit www.sprint.com.

Login to Submit a Comment

Overlay Title

You must be logged in to view this item.


This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.