April 14, 2009

Sprint Fan Vote Returns for 25th NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race

Voting Open April 14–May 16

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. ? April 14, 2009 ? Sprint (NYSE: S) today opened voting for the Sprint Fan Vote, where NASCAR Sprint Cup Series™ fans will select a driver to compete in the historic 25th running of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race May 16 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway.

Last year’s NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race winner, Kasey Kahne, made history by becoming the first driver to win the main event after qualifying via the Sprint Fan Vote.

“Winning the Sprint Fan Vote and going on to win the Sprint All-Star Race was an unforgettable moment for me,” said Kahne, who drives the No. 9 Budweiser Dodge for Richard Petty Motorsports. “I'll never be able to repay the fans for that win. After being voted into the race by the fans and then bringing home a victory for them, it meant a lot to everyone on the Budweiser Dodge team. We owe the fans and Sprint for helping make it happen."

Unlimited voting is available to all fans from April 14 to May 16. Fans may vote by visiting www.sprint.com/speed or a participating Sprint retail store. Fans may also vote trackside at the Sprint Experience during NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race weekends.

Sprint customers have the added benefit of receiving double credit for each wireless vote submitted from their Sprint device. Text “NASCAR” to 7777 to download NASCAR Sprint Cup MobileSM to cast a vote. (Standard text messaging and data rates apply.)

To be eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote, drivers must have been in the top 50 in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver point standings in 2008 or have attempted to qualify for a 2009 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race as of March 23, 2009. The driver with the most votes, who also finishes the Sprint Showdown on the lead lap, will transfer to the prestigious field. The Sprint Fan Vote winner will be announced following the completion of the Sprint Showdown.

Past Sprint Fan Vote winners are Martin Truex Jr. (2005), Kyle Petty (2006), Kenny Wallace (2007) and Kahne (2008).

Tune in at 7 p.m. (EDT) Saturday, May 16, to SPEED TV to see who will win the Sprint Fan Vote for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race XXV at Lowe’s Motor Speedway. Sprint customers can watch the announcement on their Sprint phones via NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile. Tickets for the event start at $25 and are available at www.lowesmotorspeedway.com or by calling 800-455-FANS.

Eligible Drivers:

AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Marcos Ambrose, John Andretti, Dean Baxter, Norm Benning, Kelly Bires, Dave Blaney, Mike Bliss, Geoffrey Bodine, Todd Bodine, Patrick Carpentier, Derrike Cope, Bill Elliott, Dario Franchitti, Mike Garvey, David Gilliland, Robby Gordon, Sam Hornish Jr., Brad Keselowski, Travis Kvapil, Carl Long, Joey Logano, Sterling Marlin, Jeremy Mayfield, Michael McDowell, Jamie McMurray, Casey Mears, Paul Menard, Juan Pablo Montoya, Joe Nemechek, Max Papis, Kyle Petty, David Ragan, Tony Raines, David Reutimann, Scott Riggs, Elliott Sadler, Boris Said, Ken Schrader, Kirk Shelmerdine, Mike Skinner, Regan Smith, Reed Sorenson, Scott Speed, David Starr, David Stremme, Martin Truex Jr., Brian Vickers, Mike Wallace, Michael Waltrip and J.J. Yeley.

About Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services bringing the freedom of mobility to consumers, businesses and government users. Sprint Nextel is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, including two wireless networks serving more than 49 million customers at the end of the fourth quarter 2008; industry-leading mobile data services; instant national and international push-to-talk capabilities; and a global Tier 1 Internet backbone. For more information, visit www.sprint.com.

Media Contacts:
Kimberly Meesters, Sprint, 704-634-3637
Mary Dunnie, Sprint, 704-615-6402

Login to Submit a Comment

Overlay Title

You must be logged in to view this item.


This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.