May 08, 2007
RESTON, Va., May 08, 2007 (BUSINESS WIRE) -- Sprint Nextel Corp. (NYSE:S) today announced that its board of directors has declared second quarter cash dividends for Sprint Nextel Common Stock. A dividend of 2.5 cents per share is payable on June 29, 2007, to shareholders of record at the close of business on June 8, 2007.

The announcement followed the 2007 Annual Meeting during which, according to preliminary results, shareholders voted to elect each of the following nominees for a one-year term: Keith J. Bane, Robert R. Bennett, Gordon M. Bethune, Frank M. Drendel, Gary D. Forsee, James H. Hance, V. Janet Hill, Irvine O. Hockaday, Jr., Linda Koch Lorimer, and William H. Swanson. Shareholders also approved the 2007 Omnibus Incentive Plan and ratified the appointment of KPMG LLP, as independent auditor.

A shareholder proposal regarding an advisory vote on compensation of named executive officers, which the company opposed, failed to pass. All vote tallies are preliminary until certified by an independent election inspector.

About Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services bringing the freedom of mobility to consumers, businesses and government users. Sprint Nextel is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, including two robust wireless networks serving more than 53.6 million customers at the end of the first quarter 2007; industry-leading mobile data services; instant national and international walkie-talkie capabilities; and a global Tier 1 Internet backbone. For more information, visit

SOURCE: Sprint Nextel Corp.

Sprint Nextel Corp.
Media Contact:
James Fisher, 703-433-8677
Investor Relations Contact:
Kurt Fawkes, 800-259-3755